Skip to content

Cashew Cream will change your life!

May 19, 2012

Cashew CreamCashew cream and blackberries has become my vegan, heart-healthy, low calorie, sugar-free breakfast. (I’m not vegan but I love vegan food so I am sure you will find lots to that effect on this blog.)

I’ve been talking to a lot of people about food lately and cashew cream is the stand-out catalyst for creating this food blog. As I am cooking and learning about so many new and wonderful foods, I wanted to share them with my clients. A blog means, of course, that you are sharing it with the world. And why not? I hope that you will always find something new to taste and make, a new restaurant to try, nutrition tips to understand more about the food you are eating, and random notes about food. All to enhance your nutritional experience while you are pregnant, postpartum or really any time.

I hope you enjoy cashew cream as much as I do!

Cashew Cream

1 cup raw, organic Cashews (pieces are fine and sometime a little cheaper than whole cashews)

water to cover (preferably filtered)

10 drops liquid Stevia or 1 packet of solid Stevia*

1/2 teaspoon of organic Vanilla

Soak the Cashews overnight, or at least 8 hours, in a bowl of water. In the morning, rinse the cashews. Place the cashews in a high-speed blender (like a VitaMix). My friend Allison gave me a Living Well HealthMaster blender that works great. You can also use a regular blender on its highest setting. Pour in enough filtered water to almost cover the cashews. The more water you use, the more liquidy the cream will be. I like it thick like whipped cream. Turn on the blender for at least 60 seconds on one of the high settings. When the cashews are uniformly blended, you are done. I then add the Stevia and the vanilla and blend it for a few seconds more. There you have it!!

*If you do not have Stevia, or if you prefer to use a different sweetener, you can use 1 Tablespoon of Maple syrup or raw honey. Stevia is made from a leaf and has 0 calories although being many times sweeter than sugar.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. Melanyann Garvin permalink
    May 31, 2012 5:18 am

    I love your cashew cream!! So yummy!

Trackbacks

  1. Grain Free Waffles for Breakfast « Wisewoman Food
  2. How to Survive the Holidays with Gestational Diabetes « Wisewoman Food

Leave a Reply

