Skip to content

Something sweet (and chocolatey)

May 30, 2012

Cocoa Coconut Bits

For those of you who are my clients, you’ve heard it before – eliminate all sugar in your diet for a healthy pregnancy and for a great homebirth. But I know that many of you are still looking for something sweet. Cashew cream and berries will often hit the spot, but when you really need something chocolatey, I found a vegan, gluten-free “cookie” that really hits the spot. I put it in parenthesis because I’m not sure if it is a cookie or, if you eat the batter raw, a truffle. Since it is egg and dairy free, this is perfectly fine to eat raw and it is REALLY good. Did I mention that it is white sugar free as well? This recipe uses maple syrup as the sweetener, but I had really good results with using half maple syrup and half coconut nectar. Coconut nectar is the sap that comes from the coconut blossoms of the coconut tree. It is very low glycemic which means that it won’t raise your blood sugar very high. This is important in pregnancy so that your baby is not exposed to high glucose levels either. The label says that it contains an “abundant source of minerals, 17 amino acids, vitamin C, broad-spectrum B vitamins, and has a nearly neutral pH.” Indeed, this is a form of sugar, don’t get me wrong, but it is more nutritious than other processed sugars and agave. So, for a treat, this is the kind of thing you should be snacking on.

This recipe comes from The Sprouted Kitchen. I am hoping to use Wisewoman Food to introduce you to other food blogs that I like and that I think can be helpful in your nutrition adventure of pregnancy and postpartum. There are so many amazing food blogs out there, literally tens of thousands! As I come across good ones, I’ll add them to the blogroll and introduce a recipe in a post. While you are pregnant and breastfeeding, everything that you eat is going to creating a healthy little being. There is no greater motivation than that to eat healthy, wholesome foods. If you like to cook, I hope that these posts will enhance your already exciting, culinary adventure. But, if you don’t like to cook, I am hoping that this blog will help you get your feet wet and begin trying new things. Let me know if there is something you want a recipe for. Now check out Cocoa Coconut Bits from The Sprouted Kitchen and read her excellent discussion about healthy cooking oils as well. Yum! Dina loves these cookies so much, she took them out of a box that I was sending to my friend Alison in Greece and brought them to work. She says I just have to make more.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Keith Huggins permalink
    June 10, 2012 8:07 pm

    Great post, love your passion for sharing what eating healthy is all about, especially for expecting mothers!

Leave a Reply

