Skip to content

A Paleo Bread by Marci Riseman

September 17, 2013
Marci's Paleo Bread
My eleven-year-old son has celiac disease; he was diagnosed when he was six. I’d been an avid baker and it took me the better part of a year to get the hang of baking gluten-free–but once I did, I had a great repertoire of recipes to replace the gluten-y recipes I could no longer use. So when my son’s doctor recommended the paleo diet (no grains, legumes, or dairy) to remedy our son’s chronic anemia and other health issues, I was dismayed. First no wheat recipes; now no more grain recipes of any kind?! My son was dismayed too, both to be so different from his peers and to have to avoid all the foods they brought to school. I decided to find a paleo sandwich bread, because school lunches just aren’t the same without an occasional sandwich. My first few attempts (using coconut flour and almond flour) ranged from somewhat edible to, as my seven-year-old said, “horrid.” When I found a strange-sounding recipe on the blog Against All Grain (now my favorite grain-free blog), I didn’t realize I’d found the staple that we’d depend on always. The ingredients are unexpected, and the “dough” is more of a batter–but the bread is a delight, moist and flavorful and able to hold up to any sandwich filling. With just a few modifications from the original, the recipe appears below.
And yes, the paleo diet eliminated my son’s lifelong anemia, in just three months! We are sticking with the diet and I hope to post more grain-free recipes here over time.

Sandwich Bread

Adapted from Against All Grain

Ingredients:

            1 cup Artisana cashew butter

            4 eggs

            1 tsp honey

            1 T apple cider vinegar

            ¼ cup coconut milk

            ¼ cup coconut flour

            1 tsp baking soda

            ½ tsp salt

Directions:

  1. Preheat oven to 300.
  2. Line bottom of loaf pan with parchment and spray with coconut oil.
  3. Sift coconut flour with baking soda. Add salt and stir to bombine.
  4. Separate eggs: whites into one large mixing bowl and yolks into another.
  5. Beat whites until stiff peaks form.
  6. Add the cashew butter, honey, and vinegar to the egg yolks and beat to combine. Slowly add the coconut milk and blend.
  7. Mix the egg whites into the cashew mixture only until blended. Add dry ingredients until blended.
  8. Pour mixture into pan. Bake for 40-45 minutes or until top is golden brown.
No comments yet

Leave a Reply

